Help with Rotax install

For general discussion of the Just Aircraft family of aircraft.
Includes: Highlander, Escapade, Summit and SuperSTOL.

Moderator: scubarider2

Help with Rotax install

Postby gme9261236 » Sat Feb 02, 2008 5:04 pm

Thanks to a very generous forum user we have aquired some loaner rotax brackets to get the motor installed (when ours come in we will swap the brackets) but we have come up with a question.

as installed already on the rotax there is a line which looks like it holds some type of coolant that is very much in the way of the motor mount. We took the tube off the fitting because there was no physical way that we can mount the engine with that placed the way it was. It appears that where it would interfere we may be able to twist that little curved fitting to help it suit us better but we figured it is better to ask here first. Since you probably have no idea what I am talking about I am attaching a photo.
Image

Anyone have some insight as to how you did it and could maybe include a good photo? We have the same problem on the other side.
gme9261236
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: Hampton, NH 7B3

Postby b1x4nqb » Sat Feb 02, 2008 6:25 pm

Sorry,

I cannot make out from your photo what you're talking about.  When I zoom in on it, the picture is too blurry to see and too close to make out where it is located.  Maybe describe where it is and what it feeds off of?  Or take a photo from a little farther away so we can tell which one it is.  My guess is that it is a line off your water pump housing in the back of the engine.  What is the line running into? or what is in it's way?   The mounts that you are borrowing, do they have extra material added to their fronts for an airbox installation?  If so, you want to make sure that extra material on them is in the front, not reversed so they are sticking backwards causing a clearance issue.  Again, not sure which hose is in your way.  Also, do a quick search for 912 installation pictures on here, in this forum and you should see a few shots of engines completely mounted that might help out but from what I recall they are all side shots  

Paul, PA
b1x4nqb
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 282
Joined: Mon Aug 14, 2006 11:53 am
Location: Orwigsburg, PA

yep same problem

Postby scubarider2 » Sat Feb 02, 2008 7:43 pm

Yep, I had the same problem.  Not sure I solved it very well but did end up buying more hose and rerouting.  Still goes right over the mounting bolt.  Since everything will vibrate together should not wear.  But will keep an eye on it.  Mounting the engine was difficult due to everything was in the way.  Do a search here.  There were several having the same problem.
Dennis
User avatar
scubarider2
Topic Moderator
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:03 pm
Location: Cleveland, GA

Postby gme9261236 » Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:28 am

Thanks guys,
It is the line coming from the water pump I believe. If you are standing on the left side of the engine (prop to your left, tail to your right) it is the line that connects right behind the back of the engine mount and then connects to the head it looks like. Does anyone know if that little elbow connection on the waterpump can be turned to a different angle (ie swiveled)? That would help somewhat but we didnt want to take the chance on spinning it to point it in a different direction if it is fixed.

I think what you said dennis is best, we are going to have to get a hose with more length and route it anyway we can get it there to get the job done. At this point I think there is no other option.

also on another note....MOUNTING THE TRANSPONDER AND ICOM IC-A200..

we have the mounting trays for them but there is no way to mount the tray to the panel. Did you all just make an L bracket that secures to the side of the tray and then rivets to the panel to hold the tray in place? I would assume that is what everyone has done but can never be sure.
gme9261236
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: Hampton, NH 7B3

yep

Postby scubarider2 » Sun Feb 03, 2008 9:45 am

I loosened the two screws that are above and below the elbow.  Did not budge.  So I left as is and just bought a longer hose and rerouted it.  Both sides have a problem.  So I just did the same on both just looking for the best route.
I also have an ICOM A-200.  That is what I did.  I put in four L brackets and used rivets.  Works great.  I believe if you do a search I have a picture somewhere here on the back side.  I also made up a support on the other end to hold the weight up.  That way no stress on the panel.
User avatar
scubarider2
Topic Moderator
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:03 pm
Location: Cleveland, GA

Postby DaveU » Sun Feb 03, 2008 11:55 am

I replaced the 90 degree elbow with a 45 degree elbow.  I ordered it from Lockwood aviation.  This gave me clearance and simplified the routing of the coolant hose.  Lockwood will sell you the elbow and the required locktite to install it.

Dave
DaveU
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 184
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 12:20 am

Postby stede52 » Sun Feb 03, 2008 12:30 pm

here's a configuration of a bracket I made for my A200 in my other plane
Steve
Attachments
radio brkt completed.jpg
radio brkt completed.jpg (142.15 KiB) Viewed 2173 times
radio brkt.jpg
radio brkt.jpg (127.37 KiB) Viewed 2173 times
User avatar
stede52
Premium Member
 
Posts: 1034
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 11:40 am
Location: Carnation, WA

Postby gme9261236 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 7:26 am

Thanks for the help...
I think I will take both of your advice and buy the 45 instead of the 90 and some longer line to reroute it. I agree that I think the 45 would make it an easier run.

Stede- I like what you did with the bracket because it incorporates the bracing for the weight at the same time. Good pictures
gme9261236
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 11:01 pm
Location: Hampton, NH 7B3

bracket

Postby scubarider2 » Mon Feb 04, 2008 8:51 am

I thought about doing the same thing with the radio bracket but could not due to the available space.  I just riveted the radio base to the front then made a "sling" with rubber on the inside to support the weight on the backside.
D
User avatar
scubarider2
Topic Moderator
 
Posts: 1065
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 7:03 pm
Location: Cleveland, GA

Engine Mount Brackets

Postby Wes » Sat Mar 15, 2008 2:49 pm

A swing back on topic---

I am not happy with the engine mount bolts provided with the FF package.
-First probelm: The Rotax Install manual (parag 9.1) says I need a min of 25 mm engagment of the thread. The bolts provided are only 30 mm long and the bracket is 10 mm thick. (see photo), so that don't add up right. Seems I need a 40 mm length bolt. I measured the depth of the threaded blind hole in the engine block and it is about 33mm.
- Second problem, the bolts provided are full thread which means I have a thread-in-bearing situation which is generally not allowed in aircraft/aerospace applications, especially when there is a critical shear load situation. (these are the only 4 bolts holding my engine in my airplane!)

So, I am tryng to find a metric high strength bolt (12.9) that is 10mmX1.5 by 40mm long with 10 mm of shoulder. I found a 50mm long bolt with a nice shoulder that I tried to cut more threads on and trim to length, but it is tuff to cut threads in this stuff.

Anybody run across this situation and have a solution?

Thanks,
Wes

kit #95
Attachments
EngMount Brkt.jpg
EngMount Brkt.jpg (51.02 KiB) Viewed 1942 times
Kit # 95
Low and Slow - The only way to go!
User avatar
Wes
Premium Member
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2006 10:32 pm
Location: Satellite Bch, Florida


Return to Just Aircraft