Desert Flying Videos

For general discussion of the Just Aircraft family of aircraft.
Includes: Highlander, Escapade, Summit and SuperSTOL.
User GDS
Veteran Member

Desert Flying Videos

Post by User GDS »

I finally got some video uploaded, hopefully these links work properly:

This is a spot near the river, during the season I like landing out here and walking the washes looking for quail: http://vimeo.com/90460834

Here's one landing at the GT aerodrome:
http://vimeo.com/90459987

I'm still learning how the technology works, I'll put more up if I get anything interesting.
GDS
So Cal
Highlander #232
Rotax 912ULS, Dynon Skyview
User GDS
Veteran Member

Re: Desert Flying Videos

Post by User GDS »

Another one with the cockpit view. http://vimeo.com/90468397

Kinda fuzzy, but you can see the AOA meter in this.
GDS
So Cal
Highlander #232
MAJ MALFUNCTION

Post by MAJ MALFUNCTION »

Very cool - thanks for sharing!
Trilander Ted
Seasoned Member

Post by Trilander Ted »

Gary: Like your video of the vapor lock on take off----good information, camera smooth--- camera shakes--- switch on-----camera smooth again. I haven't had mine do this yet, what is the difference ????? Same hot desert ???? I just put the newest Rotax fuel pump on for safety (with the third outlet) like the one you have. Looks like you have your camera "smarts" in order now, time to go "skiing" on the river. Called Gil last week to show him "Tucker International" video you posted. Cheers, Trilander Ted
User GDS
Veteran Member

Post by User GDS »

I haven't had mine do this yet, what is the difference ????? Same hot desert ????
I didn't allow much time for fuel flow between starting up and adding full power. My hypothesis is that cool fuel from aft of the firewall hadn't flowed forward before I set full power. Also, Gil told me that he had seen a vapor lock issue related to the position of the gascolator. Mine is behind the muffler, it could be a contributing factor.