Page 1 of 1

Choke Cable

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 4:48 pm
by orenjr
Does anyone have pictures of the choke cable junction where one cable intersects the 2 coming through the firewall? I installed mine and it is very hard to pull and the choke does not want to go off. Any help would be appreciated.
Thank! Oren

Re: Choke Cable

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 8:03 pm
by Jack L
Oren,

The choke cable is hard to pull because the carb choke mechanisms are spring loaded. When you start you physically have to pull and hold the choke cable knob until the engine starts, as soon as you let go it returns to normal.

Does this help? Let me know if you still need a picture and I will dig one up that I took at the factory.

Jack

Re: Choke Cable

PostPosted: Sun Jan 25, 2015 11:16 pm
by gkremers
Oren,
I didn't use the supplied cables for the enricher or throttle. The cables from McFarland are pricy but work extremely well. The enricher cable does not require a splitter, see pic below. The throttle cables are similar with no splitter required.


Part Number: MCC101D048-RBC
Description: CONTROL, Choke, Dual, 4 ft, Bl

Qty per Aircraft:
Unit of Measure: EACH
Retail Price: $176.54
Inventory Status: Stock
Your Discount Price: $140.11
Qty1 EACH

MCC1xxDLL-RBC Dual -mas.jpg
MCC1xxDLL-RBC Dual -mas.jpg (11.32 KiB) Viewed 2152 times


Gary
N325AB

Re: Choke Cable

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 12:24 am
by Av8r3400
+1 for the McFarland cables for both throttle and enrichener! Worth every penny when operating a 912 engine.

Re: Choke Cable

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 7:32 am
by Jack L
The McFarlane cable is definitely a better setup but if you decide to go with the Just Aircraft supplied setup this is how they install it;

choke 1.jpg

choke 2.jpg

Re: Choke Cable

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 1:10 pm
by SheepdogRD
Here's the link to the McFarlane choke cable: http://www.mcfarlane-aviation.com/Products/?PartNumber=MCC101D048-RBC&.

For reference, here's the link to their Rotax throttle cables: http://www.mcfarlane-aviation.com/Products/?CategoryID=260&ID=86797058&.

Re: Choke Cable

PostPosted: Mon Jan 26, 2015 3:54 pm
by orenjr
Thanks! for all your help . I hope I can get the cable to work by adjusting and changing my cable mounting to the triangular plate as in the pictiure.If not I will order the dual cable.
Thanks! Oren

Re: Choke Cable

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 1:50 pm
by Johnny C!
This is how I installed my
choke, but I read here, that
someone just choked one carb,
and when it fired, the other
caught up real quick.

if I have remebered that correctly,
that would simplify your install...

John





Jack L wrote:The McFarlane cable is definitely a better setup but if you decide to go with the Just Aircraft supplied setup this is how they install it;

choke 1.jpg

choke 2.jpg

Re: Choke Cable

PostPosted: Tue Jan 27, 2015 2:31 pm
by alan
John is correct. That was me. Just one choke cable connected to the starboard carb only. I went down to my friendly neighborhood auto part store and bought an El cheapo brand lawnmower choke cable. The expensive double cable with splitter from Lockwood was impossible to rig.

Still happy after almost 9 years. :-)

Alan

Re: Choke Cable

PostPosted: Wed Jan 28, 2015 1:42 pm
by Johnny C!
I bought two choke cable kits from
the auto parts store for my 2 home
made heater boxes.

Later!

John




alan wrote:John is correct. That was me. Just one choke cable connected to the starboard carb only. I went down to my friendly neighborhood auto part store and bought an El cheapo brand lawnmower choke cable. The expensive double cable with splitter from Lockwood was impossible to rig.

Still happy after almost 9 years. :-)

Alan