Page 1 of 1

Static port location

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 1:09 am
by JHR
I now have 60 hours on my Highlander and very happy with it except the airspeed indicator reading high. The static port is just the static tube vented behind the panel.
Has anyone found a good location for the port on the fuselage?

Any help appreciated.

Re: Static port location

PostPosted: Tue Sep 20, 2016 8:58 am
by FlyerChief
The easiest and most logical place is on the boot cowl. I installed dual ports (one on each side) and joined them with a "tee" fitting behind the panel. Because it has two sources, it balances out any variation due to the slipstream rotating around the plane from the prop wash. It seems to work well.
Dan
1041529_orig.jpg
Dual Static Ports on the Boot Cowl

Re: Static port location

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:22 am
by alan
My kit, #0087, came with the pitot and static ports premade in the form of two bent aluminum tubes that I installed in the port wing. The pitot was of course open on the tip. The static came with 4 tiny holes drilled around the end an inch or so from the tip. I was to plug the tip with epoxy and join the two together with the same so that they were stacked. Having both of these "sensors" together out on the wing gives a stable reference input.

Alan

Re: Static port location

PostPosted: Wed Sep 21, 2016 3:01 pm
by scubarider2
Same as Alan for me.
Dennis

Re: Static port location

PostPosted: Fri Sep 23, 2016 5:09 pm
by gkremers
I used this from AS,combo pitot and static

Works perfectly...

Gary

15144s.jpg
15144s.jpg (9.34 KiB) Viewed 1558 times

Re: Static port location

PostPosted: Sat Sep 24, 2016 8:36 am
by alan
Very similar to mine.

Alan

Re: Static port location

PostPosted: Sun Nov 27, 2016 11:05 pm
by Tony Armour
My airspeed is also about 10mph high in cruise. As the op does, I only have a short piece (2") of tubing right on the airspeed indicator. I just installed a Garmin G5 and looking to correct this. I am going to install a matching static beside the pitot out on the wing. Pitot is only a homemade piece from 1/4" aluminum tubing. Today I pulled the tank cover off and that along with inspection plates removed, it looks to be a simple job running another tubing line. Hoping for good results or close enough I can adjust the static with baffles (o-rings etc)