Page 1 of 1

Skyview Remote Magnetometer

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 10:45 pm
by FredHoffman
Anyone mount the Skyview Remote Magnetometer in the wingtip? I plan on mounting mine under the fiberglass wingtip. Just wondering if the Aveoflash Strobe lights /Nav lights will cause problems for the Magnetometer.

Fred

Re: Skyview Remote Magnetometer

PostPosted: Sun Nov 06, 2016 11:14 pm
by AV8R Paul
I have a Kitfox with an Advanced Flight System, my Magnatomiter is mounted in the Wing Tip, last rib, by the Navigation lights & strobe. It is placed on the inside of the rib, not on the same side of the rib as you are showing in the picture. . It has worked fine.

Re: Skyview Remote Magnetometer

PostPosted: Tue Nov 08, 2016 6:45 pm
by gkremers
Fred,
I also mounted mine I the wing, just inside of the last rib. No issue with the Aveo nav/strobes.

Gary

Re: Skyview Remote Magnetometer

PostPosted: Wed Nov 09, 2016 9:48 am
by FredHoffman
Thanks Paul and Gary for the responses.

I also did an experiment with a compass. The Aveoflash has no effect on the compass on or off with the compass touching to it. The wires do though, but they have to be within an inch to see any movement of the compass needle. I think it will be easy to keep the wires from the strobes far enough away.

Fred