Wing Root Fuel Sight Gauge

For general discussion of the Just Aircraft family of aircraft.
Includes: Highlander, Escapade, Summit and SuperSTOL.
EchoWhiskey
Seasoned Member

Wing Root Fuel Sight Gauge

Post by EchoWhiskey »

Hi all,

I am mounting my tanks in my Highlander and have been researching fuel sight gauges. The LSA Ive been flying for a few years has them, and I have never wondered if I was low on fuel. If I was, I knew. My current plane has back up electric fuel pump. The end goal is a Yamaha Apex and a back up electric pump. Has anyone done this? Any reason Not to(except for the potential fuel source with a hard landing). There are some well built metal gauges that enclose and protect the glass. Would this eliminate the need for a header tank?
Ed Whitaker
Humble Novice

What do you get when things don't go as planned? Experience.
danerazz
Veteran Member

Re: Wing Root Fuel Sight Gauge

Post by danerazz »

Metal or fiberglass tanks? Good idea for metal tanks, but you can just look through the fiberglass ones.

As for the header tank, these are two COMPLETELY unrelated issues. The header is there to act as a collector; it separates air and ensures constant fuel flow to the engine. In certain (nose down) attitudes the wing tank pickups will not be submerged and thus will suck air. The header is your only fuel source during those times. You would have to run fuel lines from the front of the tanks, in front of the doors, and tie them together with the rear lines at some sort of collector at a low point to eliminate the header, but you would still need a small collector to allow air to escape while providing a positive fuel flow.

Fuel pumps are dependent on your engine installation, but due to the possibility (eventuality) of running off of ONLY the header at times with little to no head pressure they are a good idea.
Dane

Paralysis by analysis
BucF16
Veteran Member

Post by BucF16 »