Page 1 of 1

Bendix/King KT-76A transponder question

PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:33 pm
by Dave_A
Does this transponder have it's own altitude encoder, or does it require an external device?

Is there any transponder model that will give you Mode C functionality WITHOUT an external encoder?

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:12 am
by Sean_Caranna
There are none that I know of, however encoders are only about $150-$250 and small

Re: Bendix/King KT-76A transponder question

PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2007 9:33 am
by planecrazzzy
Sounds like you have a Class "B" problem..... "I" have it too ( KMSP )

Have you tried Wentworth....Maybe you could pick up a used unit...

I have a Narco AT150 Transponder w/ AR850 Altitude encoder ( about $1500 total -new)

                         Gotta Fly...
                                         Mike & "Jaz" in MN
.
.



Dave_A wrote:Does this transponder have it's own altitude encoder, or does it require an external device?

Is there any transponder model that will give you Mode C functionality WITHOUT an external encoder?

Re: Bendix/King KT-76A transponder question

PostPosted: Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:06 pm
by Dave_A
planecrazzzy wrote:Sounds like you have a Class "B" problem..... "I" have it to ( KMSP )



Yep... Seattle...

Just gathering info, thanks...

Bought a project (Turner T-40AS) that needs the wing built, some covering (plywood) and the mechanical/electrical done... But I have to get back from Iraq & pick up the plane (well, plane parts) first...

Trying to figure out how all this stuff is put together, a/o just hopping in the cockpit & using it....