Bendix/King KT-76A transponder question

Use this forum for in-depth discussion of avionics. radio, and GPS performance, design, options, and installation.

Bendix/King KT-76A transponder question

Postby Dave_A » Sun Dec 23, 2007 1:33 pm

Does this transponder have it's own altitude encoder, or does it require an external device?

Is there any transponder model that will give you Mode C functionality WITHOUT an external encoder?
Dave_A
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 10:15 am
Location: Iraq (normally WA, USA)

Postby Sean_Caranna » Thu Dec 27, 2007 12:12 am

There are none that I know of, however encoders are only about $150-$250 and small
"I'll have what the gentleman on the floor is having."
User avatar
Sean_Caranna
Owner
 
Posts: 231
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2004 12:34 am
Location: Daytona Beach, FL

Re: Bendix/King KT-76A transponder question

Postby planecrazzzy » Thu Dec 27, 2007 9:33 am

Sounds like you have a Class "B" problem..... "I" have it too ( KMSP )

Have you tried Wentworth....Maybe you could pick up a used unit...

I have a Narco AT150 Transponder w/ AR850 Altitude encoder ( about $1500 total -new)

                         Gotta Fly...
                                         Mike & "Jaz" in MN
.
.



Dave_A wrote:Does this transponder have it's own altitude encoder, or does it require an external device?

Is there any transponder model that will give you Mode C functionality WITHOUT an external encoder?
Attachments
Transponder under back seat.jpg
Transponder under back seat.jpg (58.72 KiB) Viewed 5930 times
Transponder wiring loom.jpg
Transponder wiring loom.jpg (59.11 KiB) Viewed 5930 times
Transponder & encoder mounted.jpg
Transponder & encoder mounted.jpg (60.57 KiB) Viewed 5930 times
Last edited by planecrazzzy on Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:23 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Sometimes you just have to take the leap
and build your wings on the way down...
                Gotta Fly...
User avatar
planecrazzzy
Site Admin
 
Posts: 758
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2005 1:23 pm
Location: Minnesota

Re: Bendix/King KT-76A transponder question

Postby Dave_A » Mon Dec 31, 2007 3:06 pm

planecrazzzy wrote:Sounds like you have a Class "B" problem..... "I" have it to ( KMSP )



Yep... Seattle...

Just gathering info, thanks...

Bought a project (Turner T-40AS) that needs the wing built, some covering (plywood) and the mechanical/electrical done... But I have to get back from Iraq & pick up the plane (well, plane parts) first...

Trying to figure out how all this stuff is put together, a/o just hopping in the cockpit & using it....
Dave_A
New Member
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 10:15 am
Location: Iraq (normally WA, USA)


Return to Avionics, Flight Instruments & EFIS