electric trim tab actuator

For general discussion of the Just Aircraft family of aircraft.
Includes: Highlander, Escapade, Summit and SuperSTOL.

Moderator: scubarider2

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby danerazz » Thu May 17, 2012 6:48 pm

Girls, girls, you're both pretty.
Dane

Paralysis by analysis
#242
danerazz
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 876
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 9:33 pm
Location: Bangor

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby stede52 » Thu May 17, 2012 8:21 pm

yes we are, aren't we :lol:

Dave, I guess my point is, how do you know what we have with our "Limited Experience" is not strong enough for amphib Highlanders, like I said, so far no failures in your senarios. So do we really need to over think/engineer something that works? I'd rather be flying and I am :D I believe there are hundreds highlander amphib hours out there to prove the case, call the factory and find where those planes are and get some data from experienced pilots!
Steve D N419LD
User avatar
stede52
Premium Member
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 11:40 am
Location: Carnation, WA

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby Dave Krall CFII SEL SES » Sat May 19, 2012 3:22 am

All the other Highlanders I've seen have traditional floats, either metal or composite and with deep vee hulls so they don't get the same magnitude of water pounding.

The inflatable Full Lotus float design that excells in rough water, is a cathedral-bowed configuration transitioning into a very shallow vee. Their shallow draft benefits inherently place the empenage about one foot lower and closer to the water than typical traditional deep vee floats on planes of similar displacement.

That's why just as the plane is being pushed over and up onto the hump at MAX power to get on the step, and already at high surface speed, the tail is still getting a huge pounding of water globs being accelerated by the slipstream. More and longer than other configurations. The speed might not always be 100 knot water globs, it could 110 or 120+ under certain conditions.

The video from a water proof hero camera shows it nicely.
Dave Krall CFII SEL SES
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 922
Joined: Wed Mar 14, 2007 11:29 pm
Location: Seattle WA

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby SheepdogRD » Sun Feb 17, 2013 1:19 pm

I’ve read through the comments here and in a related thread at http://www.wingsforum.com/viewtopic.php?f=218&t=22630, and I hope I’ve found one solution to the servo attachment problem.

We’re using the Ray Allen T3-12A servo, and I bought the standard 8-32 threaded rod and clevises to use with it. Because the clevis doesn’t fit the existing hole in the trim tab bellcrank, I thought I’d replace the clevis with a Heim-type rod end.
Rod End - McMaster 59915kp2l.png
Rod End - McMaster 59915kp2l.png (9.37 KiB) Viewed 2932 times

The bad news: I couldn't find any 8-32 rod ends that I'd trust. Although there are some available for RC models, I couldn't find information on the standards to which they're built.

The good news: there are quality 10-32 rod ends available, and Ray Allen has a 10-32 clevis and threaded rod available as part RC-10. Here’s the link: http://www.rayallencompany.com/products/accessories.html, and here’s the link to the T3-12A servo: http://www.rayallencompany.com/products/servos.html. These parts are also available from Aircraft Spruce: http://www.aircraftspruce.com/catalog/elpages/rc10pushrod.php?clickkey=7076 and http://www.aircraftspruce.ca/catalog/elpages/ractrimservos2.php?clickkey=395280. Aircraft Spruce’s listed prices are higher, but they’ll match the lower Ray Allen prices if you call them.

If we add a stainless steel 10-32 rod end like McMaster 59915K481 (http://www.mcmaster.com/#59915K481) similar to the one pictured above, we have a simple linkage that uses the existing bellcrank hole with no fabrication required. I plan to use an AN6 bolt, washers and castle nut with it.

Since I’ve already bought the 8-32 clevises and rod, this will cost us extra. If you haven’t ordered yet, there’s very little difference in cost using the RC-10 and rod end.

One thing to note: the Ray Allen position sensor is not compatible with the 10-32 shaft.
Last edited by SheepdogRD on Sun Feb 24, 2013 10:13 am, edited 1 time in total.
Richard Holtz
Highlander N7340Z -- Ms. Tonka -- in gestation

If just enough is really good, then too much ought to be perfect.
User avatar
SheepdogRD
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: West of Atlanta, GA

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby stede52 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 12:51 am

I have always used the Ray Allen Clevis kit and they work flawless
Steve D N419LD
User avatar
stede52
Premium Member
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 11:40 am
Location: Carnation, WA

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby levyland » Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:55 am

Do I sense a bit of man period going on here? Let's calm down ladies. FYI there is no need for the RA indicators if you have a Dynon Skyview. And I believe the MGl has the same game.
levyland
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby R Rinker » Mon Feb 18, 2013 3:10 am

I'm missing something...please explain what a trim tab position indicator has to with a Dynon Skyview. How would an EFIS show the tab position without a sensor to read?
Rodger Rinker - Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Super Stol build/January 2014
NL7AL & VE6RWR
User avatar
R Rinker
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:07 am

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby SheepdogRD » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:23 am

stede52 wrote:I have always used the Ray Allen Clevis kit and they work flawless

I wasn't making any negative remarks about the Ray Allen 8-32 clevises; they're working fine on hundreds of aircraft, some of which are Highlanders. I was pointing out that there's another Ray Allen product that lets us install using the existing hole in the bellcrank, thus stepping around the re-drilling controversy.
Richard Holtz
Highlander N7340Z -- Ms. Tonka -- in gestation

If just enough is really good, then too much ought to be perfect.
User avatar
SheepdogRD
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: West of Atlanta, GA

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby levyland » Mon Feb 18, 2013 2:30 pm

I stand corrected I meant flaps sorry
levyland
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 254
Joined: Sat Dec 15, 2012 3:50 pm

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby gkremers » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:55 pm

If you have one of the Grand Rapids EFIS units and also their EIS engine monitor you do not need the RA position indicator. The indicator is displayed in the lower left corner of the EFIS screen. The enclosed PDF is from the GRT website. I'm sure the other EFIS companies do something similar.

Gary

GRT Sport Trim Position Install.pdf
(42.16 KiB) Downloaded 132 times
User avatar
gkremers
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:06 am
Location: Michigan

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby R Rinker » Mon Feb 18, 2013 6:34 pm

Is the position sensor built into the servo? I was was assuming it was external...
Rodger Rinker - Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada
Super Stol build/January 2014
NL7AL & VE6RWR
User avatar
R Rinker
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 169
Joined: Thu Jan 24, 2013 1:07 am

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby gkremers » Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:12 pm

I believe it is. There are 3 sensor wires that are normally connected to the RA trim indicator. The other 2 wires are power and ground.

Gary
User avatar
gkremers
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 403
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 8:06 am
Location: Michigan

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby SheepdogRD » Mon Feb 18, 2013 8:25 pm

I thought the sensor was external, too, but the Ray Allen instructions (http://www.rayallencompany.com/RACmedia/instructionsT2andT3.pdf) show the sensor wires coming from the servo.

Hot dog -- I think we'll have a position indicator, after all. Thanks!
Richard Holtz
Highlander N7340Z -- Ms. Tonka -- in gestation

If just enough is really good, then too much ought to be perfect.
User avatar
SheepdogRD
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 683
Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2010 5:41 pm
Location: West of Atlanta, GA

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby xpflyr » Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:31 pm

gkremers wrote:I believe it is. There are 3 sensor wires that are normally connected to the RA trim indicator. The other 2 wires are power and ground.

Gary

Ray Allen servos have a built in position sensor but they also offer an external one in case you use a servo that doesn't have a built in position sensor.
I have one of both. My trim is a RA servo but my flaps are controlled by a linear 2 inch servo. I have the RA external sensor hooked up to that. That in turn goes to the RA indicators on my instrument panel.
I do have the MGL Voyager that has a flap and trim indicator built in but I choose to use the RayAllen panel mounted ones instead. Why, I guess I was just use to looking at them from my last panel.
Attachments
DSC01316 copy.jpg
xpflyr
Veteran Member
 
Posts: 388
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2010 8:24 am

Re: electric trim tab actuator

Postby stede52 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 11:59 pm

Sheepdog,
For some reason my response to you didn't get posted. I wanted to tell you that I, in no way, took your comments negatively :D
Last edited by stede52 on Tue Feb 19, 2013 2:18 am, edited 1 time in total.
Steve D N419LD
User avatar
stede52
Premium Member
 
Posts: 1039
Joined: Thu Sep 06, 2007 11:40 am
Location: Carnation, WA

PreviousNext

Return to Just Aircraft