I'm NOT a mechanic. How do you choose a power plant?

For general discussion of the Just Aircraft family of aircraft.
Includes: Highlander, Escapade, Summit and SuperSTOL.
AviatorKeith

I'm NOT a mechanic. How do you choose a power plant?

Post by AviatorKeith »

I'm not yet a Pilot, but I will be pursuing a Sport Pilot's license in the weeks to come. I am having trouble finding LSAs that fit my budget and my 6'1 270lb frame so I figure I'll buy and build one.

I'm researching the purchase of a Highlander kit and as handy as I am, I know NOTHING about engines. I have no doubt I can build this plane to match a factory prototype, but with motors I lack experience. I'm not one of those guys who grew up working on car motors. True enough, I can keep my riding mower maintained and I understand the science behind a combustion engine, but I can't figure out how to determine what power plant to install in my future plane. Other than Horse power differences, are there other advantages/disadvantages that would help me determine which engine would be best for my plane? If you've built a plane, how did you choose? If you intend to build a plane, how will you choose?

I'm willing to return to rudimentary study of the engine choices. Is there a class for absolute beginners? Is there a book or some other teaching tool? Thanks for any advice you can offer.
Pilots are a rare kind of human. They leave the ordinary surface of the world, to purify their soul in the sky, and they come down to earth, only after receiving the communion of the infinite.

— José Maria Velasco Ibarra, President of Ecuador
xpflyr
Veteran Member

Re: I'm NOT a mechanic. How do you choose a power plant?

Post by xpflyr »

You don't need to be an expert on engines.
We choose our engines based on what you're;
familiar with- if you know about a certain engine that fits the Challengers needs go with it.